"If I Ain’t Got You"

I’ll get to Kent Austin in a second, but first – a postscript to yesterday’s presidential election rant. I find it strange that in the US, the Republicans and Democrats spend a year and a half tearing their party apart and splitting it into factions in order to nominate their candidate, then only give themselves a couple of months to ‘come together’ in order to win the presidency. Does anyone else find that weird?

But on to other things. More important things. Especially if you’re a Rider fan.

First of all, let me state that I don’t believe Austin will leave. PLEASE remember that he’s only the first candidate being interviewed out of seven or eight. Plus, some of those being interviewed have extensive NCAA resumes. Personally, I think this is a courtesy call by Austin’s alma mater, paving the way for him to possibly coach there at some time in the future. They’re letting him know he’s on their radar, so to speak.

To those who are calling Austin a ‘traitor’ for admittedly thinking of taking this opportunity, give your heads a shake. Especially those comparing Austin to Henry Burris. It’s NOT the same thing, damnit! Not even close! Burris publicly stated how much he wanted to stay here, yadda yadda yadda, then sold his soul to the Stamps. Austin has always stated how much he loves Saskatchewan, but will move on if an opportunity arises; he would be getting a PROMOTION in Mississippi. Burris just jumped teams for the hell of it.

Do I want Austin to stay? More than anything. Do I have faith that Eric Tillman will find another great coach if Austin leaves? Yes. While coaching is important, it’s not the coach who makes the plays on the field; there are 42 players on the roster who are responsible for their own play.

In other words, losing Austin would suck. There’s no other way to put it. But the man has given us two of our three Grey Cups, and deserves our best wishes no matter what happens; he came back and faced down those who would have sooner roasted him on a spit.

Kent, please stay. But if you must go, I understand.

I really hope this makes sense. It’s 1:15 am. I have no idea if I’m even coherent anymore…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

