"Back to Black"

I’m getting really tired of these internal 5 am wakeup calls. For the past three nights I’ve woken up around 5 am, unable to fall asleep again. It’s getting a little more than annoying.

So what does one do at 5 am? Well, if you’re me, you turn on your computer and start reading about Friday night’s Nevada caucuses last night’s South Carolina Republican primary. The image on the left caught my eye. It’s from the New York Times and features the Republican presidential candidates after a debate in South Carolina. It caught my eye because THEY’RE ALL WEARING THE SAME SUIT. The only differences are the ties. Scary. If it wasn’t 5 am I probably wouldn’t care. Or notice. But I care. And I noticed.

What does this have to do with anything? Nothing, really. It’s just an observation. And it’s funny. 5 am funny.

Okay. The real purpose of this post is to get a few things out of mind that have been sitting there and steeping the past number of days. The first has to do with all of the men above. If I hear one more time that Roe vs. Wade should be reversed (Roe vs. Wade being the 1973 US Supreme Court that legally allowing abortion across the country), I am going to, well, I don’t know what I’ll do. I’m just sick and tired of hearing 60-year old men decide what women should do with their bodies. It’s been 35 years since Roe vs. Wade. GET OVER IT! It’s legal and WILL NEVER be overturned. For a country founded on individual rights, liberty and the ability to sue everyone and anyone, I find it absolutely astounding that this issue comes up every 4 year election cycle. Maybe I’m too ‘liberal’ to get it. Or just too Canadian to understand the average Republican American’s obsession with abortion rights. Can you imagine Stephen Harper and the Conservatives running on a platform to overturn the legality of abortion? It would never happen! I’m just sick of this topic resurfacing whenever the Republicans go through their nomination process. The US has more important domestic issues to deal with than controlling the bodies of its female population, like, I don’t know – the impending recession? Health care? A stupid war? A skyrocketing debt?

Let’s move to the Democrats, though I am feeling sleepy again – finally. The Democrats need to have some sort of group therapy session. Honestly, the nattering between the Clinton and Obama camps is getting both tiresome and increasingly loathsome. With Obama continuing to think he’s America’s only hope and Clinton feverishly pointing out his lack of pragmatism, a great rift is beginning to form within the Democratic fold. Personally, I think Obama’s message is a good one, but could use a little more substance – and less Oprah. Besides, I like Hillary. But what really annoys me, and yet deeply concerns me, is the continuing conversation about race and gender (here’s a fantastic commentary on why it’s about damn time gender issues become front and center in the world’s biggest democracy).

The Democratic race is slowly turning into a competition between race and gender: which do you support more? The implications are: if you support Obama, you don’t support women, and if you support Hillary, you’re racist. W. T. F? Jen, one of the the Feministing ladies (whom I adore. Visit them here for daily doses of feminist goodness) put it like this: “Obviously the electoral process in this country forces an either/or decision. Isn’t it depressing that what was so exciting, a woman and a black man poised to be the Democratic presidential candidate, turned into a battle over race and gender? But this battle is between the candidates, not their struggles and backgrounds. We can’t let the game of politics become the oppression Olympics. That doesn’t help anyone.” Word.

All right. That’s enough deep thinking for 5 am. Or it must be, because I’m feeling mighty sleepy again. Who would have thought that all it’d take would be some presidential race blogging? God I’m odd…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

