"Ice Cream"

Mmmm. Ice cream would taste really good right now. I’m craving it, hence the title of this entry. But vanilla yogurt will have to suffice. I’m trying to pamper my throat, since my voice is rather gravelly today. I can’t seem to shake this head cold. Today I had to break down and buy the really expensive kleenex – the type with the lotion. My poor, red little nose.

But moving onwards and forwards. Can you believe it? TWO entries in one day! I don’t know why, but after a rather idle couple of months, the blogging bug has bit me again. Or maybe I just have more to rant about. Hmmm. Tough call.

Today’s episode of American foreign policy was bascially a rehashing of the last two classes of my Cold War class. Why did the Cold War start? The short answer: there isn’t one specific reason, and depending on your ideological framework or continental allegiance, you’ll create your own reasoning. History is not merely facts, my friends; it’s the interpretation of those facts.

And what was The Wheel’s wisdom for today? Well, there really wasn’t anything notable, except for this quote: “Communism was like a red gelatin, slowly spreading from the Soviet Union outwards.” Who knew the Cold War involved Jell-O!?!?

I’d just like to comment on a few noteworthy developments in the news today:

  • There was an article on ctv.ca the other day about how some news organizations had begun preparying the obituaries of young starlets, such as Britney Spears and Lindsay Lohan, because of their self-destructive behaviour. It’s certainly a bit ironic that this article was written only mere days before this afternoon’s sad news of the death of Heath Ledger. Personally, I thought he was brilliant in ‘Brokeback Mountain,’ and if the Academy could have given away two Best Actor trophies, they should have. Ledger was obviously more troubled than the public knew. What they say is true: money sure doesn’t buy happiness. And because death in the entertainment biz often creates a lot of buzz, Ledger’s death will certainly boost the hubbub surrounding this summer’s upcoming Batman movie, “Dark Knight.”
  • It’s about damn time the Leafs fired John Ferguson’s ass. I still can’t believe they chose him in 2003 over proven guys like Neil Smith and Steve Tambellini. HE HAD NO EXPERIENCE. The results? The Leafs suck and will suck for years to come. They have no GOOD young talent on their roster, no 1st round draft picks until probably next decade, the 2nd-most expensive blue line in the league even though it is one of the worst, AND WADE BELAK IS STILL INEXPLICABLY EMPLOYED!!!! This is the man who signed both Jason Allison and Eric Lindros to contracts despite their age and injury-riddled pasts. It’s amazing to me how such a storied franchise can have such a crazy, messed up front office. But that’s MLSE. I don’t know how I feel about Cliff Fletcher taking over as the interim GM. Sure he gave us Doug Gilmour and was GM during those conference final appearances in 1993 and 1994, but he traded a lot of our young talent/draft picks away as well, which has certainly contributed to the current situation. What do the Leafs need? DEFENCEMEN NOT NAMED BRYAN MCCABE, THOMAS KABERLE AND PAVEL KUBINA OR HAL GILL. None of the above are top line defencemen. Their salaries are just – I can’t even think of a word for it. Inexplicable just isn’t enough.
  • Scott Niedermayer is going to the All-Star game. Seriously?!?! The guy’s only played 17 games this season. 17. Sure he’s a Hall-of-Famer. But to be on the All-Star team, you should have an All-Star year. 17 games just doesn’t cut it.
  • I really wanted the Packers to win on Sunday. Brett Favre had a great year and deserved that Super Bowl trophy. I really don’t like the Patriots. They’re like the Red Wings. Or the Stampeders of the 1990s, the Lions of this decade. Always on top. Damn them!
  • If I see one more pink Roughriders shirt or hat, I will snap. GREEN IS THE COLOR, PEOPLE!
  • Fred Thompson dropped out of the Republican presidential candidate race. Does anyone care?
  • Listen to Sophie Milman. You won’t be disappointed.
  • I almost crawled out of my skin yesterday when one of my professors mentioned that women aren’t a minority. I held my tongue because by the time I realized what he had said, the class discussion was moving in a different direction. Women may not be a minority in terms of numbers, but we certainly are in terms of power.

That should do it for tonight folks…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

