"Baby, It’s Cold Outside"

I truly don’t remember the last time it was this freaking cold. Maybe it’s because last winter wasn’t this bad, and I spent the previous two winters in Vancouver where I don’t think it ever got below -5. Here it’s -50 with the windchill. Oh, excuse me. It’s warmed up. It’s now -49 with the windchill. It’s ridiculous! When it is this cold, the world should shut down. People should stay home. What is there to gain by going out in this frigidness? Cars don’t start. The brakes on my 4Runner are so stiff when I start it, that I wonder if I’m going to break (ha ha!) them.

I am SOOOOOOO excited for Kathleen Edwards’ new album! It’s coming out on March 4th, and the first single was released today! I’ve already listened to it 8 times – oh, 9 now! – according to iTunes. She’s so brilliant! How can she not be with these lyrics:

“a is for all the times I bit my tongue
b is for bullshit and you fed me some
c is for charity and now you’re mine
d is for dollars but you’re countin’ dimes
e is the exit sign backstage at shows…
You always write it in the cheapest key
You always blame it on the cheapest key
You always play me in the cheapest key”

I can’t quite decipher the words that go with ‘f’ and ‘g.’ But it’s a great play on words. A-G are the names of musical keys. I love it! CAN’T WAIT for March 4th!!

I’m sorry to keep pointing out all of the sexist stuff that’s being written about Hillary Clinton, but this paragraphyREALLY pissed me off:
“It’s not so much that women aren’t ready for a woman president. We are. But there’s something about last week’s spectacle of Bill Clinton crashing through South Carolina like the guy poised to drag her back to his cave by the hair that reminds us that Hillary has some stuff to work out in her marriage before she works it out with the rest of us. Any woman in public life inevitably still struggles to define herself in opposition to men. But Hillary has an even bigger cross to bear: She’s still defining herself in opposition to Bill.”

First of all, it’s a little more difficult to define yourself against someone WHO WAS PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES FOR EIGHT YEARS. Of course she hast to work against some history! It has nothing to do with the fact she’s a woman! Next, notice the words in bold. WTF?! You know, every couple has marital problems. And not every couple is perfect. If we’re going to measure our politicians by their perceived marital happiness, then why aren’t we talking about Rudy Guiliani and inability to stay married to one woman? In fact, his current marriage is the result of an extra-marital affair that began during his second marriage. Should we not be wondering if he’d ‘cheat’ on us if he became President? We should be by the unhinged logic of the above writer. Ugh. Furthermore, there’s a headline on the Globe and Mail website today that reads, “Hill and Bill: It’s the marriage, stupid – Dysfunctional duo or model for midlife love?” Who cares?!?! We don’t examine the marriages of male candidates. You don’t see articles about John McCain’s wife Cindy, who’s 17 years younger than John. And we don’t hear about the Obama marriage. Keep the focus on the future of the US of A, people!

In closing, I have to mention that we were given some very sad news last night at Wallyworld. One of our older cashiers, Charlotte, passed away very suddenly yesterday. Charlotte was one of the most unique people I have ever known. Her compassion was second to none; she raised the most money for our charities campaign after campaign. She was incredibly supportive of me and my education. She would always ask how I was doing and making sure that I wasn’t working too hard; she always worried about me. But she had another side to her. She could swear like a trucker and tear a strip off of you if she wanted! What a character. I loved her to bits and will miss her dearly…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

