"Wintersong"

Ahh. Snow in Vancouver. There was a story on the news tonight about a freak afternoon blizzard that hit the Lower Mainland earlier today, and I couldn’t help but become nostalgic. Vancouver looks incredible with a dusting of snow. It causes complete and utter chaos on the streets as no one knows how to negotiate the ice and slush, but it’s beautiful nonetheless. I remember my first winter in Vancouver, where we had snow on and off for about 2 weeks – a rarity; my cousin couldn’t remember ever having that much snow in winter. I loved walking around those 2 weeks.

I’m seriously considering having a snow day tomorrow. I really wish I was in Mexico with my Mom right now. Lucky woman…

This weekend had its highs and lows. The high point was going out for supper with Melanie last night and then driving around the city and visiting its scenic points. One sometimes forgets what beauty surrounds them at home. I was reminded of that last night. And I was also reminded of my fear of heights. Mel and I went to the Weir and she wanted to go up top to the train bridge. Yeah – I chickened out. I got up one flight and couldn’t go any further. I think part of it was that I had heels on; I didn’t feel grounded in the first place. At least that’s the reason I’m going to go with. 😉

Today, though, was a total wash. I didn’t get one break my entire shift. I was wiped when I got home, and had a nap. I slept through the 3rd period of the NHL All-Star game, minus the last minute, which was probably the best hockey of the entire game.

I haven’t had a chance to sort through this weekend’s news stories, otherwise I’m sure I’d have more comments. I hope that doesn’t mean the week to come is going to be crazy. Sigh…
Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

