"I’m in a Hurry"

I have to leave for work in exactly 23 minutes, and I just got home from class – early – so I only have time for a very short supper. My choice – dessert first: some birthday cake from Great Grandma’s 95th birthday yesterday.

Today’s quote of the day comes from a video we watched in Cold War class: “Long live American mules!” This was said by a Greek man following World War II went the US Marshall Plan gave Greece millions of dollars in reconstruction aid and – Missouri mules!

I have to address yesterday’s Superbowl. How Eli Manning did not get sacked – I have no idea. And that play is what won them the Superbowl. Sure the touchdown put them ahead, but if Manning is sacked, the Giants turn the ball over and it’s game over.

What I really want to discuss, though, is the preamble to the Superbowl. Wow. I’ll admit that I’ve never actually sat down and watched all of the pre-Bowl festivities. But what really got me was the recitation of the Declaration of Independence by dozens of NFL players and army-related people, including some actual troops. Nothing like a little American myth and rhetoric to build up an American tradition. Personally, the Declaration of Independence has nothing to do with the NFL. And I think it’s a little ludicrous to have million-dollar football stars reciting “all men are created equal,” when all of the pomp and circumstance points out this is not a “self-evident truth,” especially in the US where not all are even entitled to health care.

But – meh. Overall, it was a good weekend. Unfortuatnely, it started sadly with Charlotte’s funeral, which was a beautiful service and memorial. The evening was a blast as we went out for Melanie and Tanya’s birthdays. Yesterday was Great Grandma’s birthday, and she looked radiant! 95 years old! Can you imagine? And then I was able to rehearse with my accompanist for a number I’m performing at a Broadway-themed fundraiser in Rosthern at the end of the month. I’m really excited to get back on stage again; I’ve been feeling like it’s time to put a little more music back into my life…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

