"Eyes on Me"

There’s the new man, team. Ken Miller, affectionately referred to as ‘Kenny’ during the press conference, has been named the new head coach of the Saskatchewan Roughriders. Best line of the newser goes to GM Eric Tillman: “Do I wish Ken Miller was five years younger? Yes, but not nearly as much as Kenny does. In a perfect world, he’d be younger, but in a perfect world I wouldn’t have spiked red hair. That’s the way it goes.”

How much do I know about Ken Miller? Well, I couldn’t really remember what he looked like until I Googled him. So, not much. But I found out quite a bit listening to the press conference that announced his promotion. First of all, he’s articulate. He’s not the orator Austin was (is), but he gets his point across, and he has a sense of humour. He’s very excited to become a head coach, his FIRST head coaching job in over 40+ years in football. He knows how to surround himself with good people; he promoted Paul LaPolice to offensive coordinator, and has retained the defensive services of Richie Hall. This is very good news; the interview process did not fracture the coaching staff. He WAS the offensive mind of the Roughriders; Austin was not the offensive guru the media lead us to believe. He will continue to develop Kerry Joseph and grow the offensive scheme in a natural progression. In other words: the Riders will be more than capable of repeating as Grey Cup champs. All is well my fellow diehards.

So what’s next for ET now that he has his new head guy? FREE AGENCY. The deadline is Feburary 15th – a week and two days from now. The Riders have a number of significant free agents to resign, mostly on the defensive side of the ball, including Eddie Davis and Reggie Hunt. Word is that a significant offer was made to Davis, while negotiations with Hunt have not exactly been productive. Interestingly, it was mentioned that Matt Dominguez was present at today’s announcement; does that mean his resigning with the team is imminent? Let’s hope so. As injury-prone as Matt is, when he’s healthy, he’s a hell of a football player.

Only three more months ’til training camp, team. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

