"So Long, You Fool"

I’m supposed to be finishing my geology assignment, but I was watching Jon Stewart and his coverage of Mitt Romney’s resignation from the Republican presidential campaign and became incensed over one clip. Stewart showed the following segment of Romney’s speech (the text of which I have pulled from HIS WEBSITE):

“I disagree with Senator McCain on a number of issues, as you know. But I agree with him on doing whatever it takes to be successful in Iraq, on finding and executing Osama bin Laden, and on eliminating Al Qaeda and terror. If I fight on in my campaign, all the way to the convention, I would forestall the launch of a national campaign and make it more likely that Senator Clinton or Obama would win. And in this time of war, I simply cannot let my campaign, be a part of aiding a surrender to terror.”

I cannot put into words how IRATE language like this makes me. It really shows just how ignorant some people are; unfortunately, most of these ignorant people are in positions of power, which allows them to spread their ill-informed beliefs to others, creating a society of people whose opinions are based on only what they hear. So few people actually THINK about and CRITIQUE what it is they hear!

I am so tired of hearing the type of sh*t like that above spouted by Romney yesterday. It is completely and utterly illogical, not to mention stupid, inane and disgusting, to link Democrats and terrorists. This is the type of language I expect from fringe parties and quacks like Ann Coulter and Stephen Colbert’s alter-ego – people whose jobs are to stir the pot and create controversy – NOT someone campaigning to become Commander-in-Chief of the world’s only superpower (mind you, Canada’s Conservatives aren’t above it either…). Democrats are not terrorists. To call them such is ludicrous. And Romney is basically calling all those Americans who support Democratic candidates unpatriotic and responsible for any and all deaths resulting from terrorists.

I don’t understand how a politician can get up on a national stage and call half of his fellow citizens possible future accessories to murder. How self-righteous, bombastic and imbecilic. Put the blame where it should be: on the terrorists. THEY are the ones who kill innocent people, NOT political parties! But if we want to beat Romney at his own game, let’s remember that 9/11 happened under the watch of a Republican who ignored the signs. So under Romney’s logic, all those who voted Republican in 2000 are responsible for the deaths of 3000 of their fellow citizens on 9/11. I don’t think he would take that criticism very well.

Unfortunately Canadians are not immune to this type of political sh*tslinging. I will lose it on the next person who refers to NDP leader Jack Layton as ‘Taliban Jack.’ I’m not a Layton fan, but I refuse to lump him in with the Taliban just because he doesn’t support Canadian action in Afghanistan. Layton is not a terrorist. He is not killing innocent men, women and children: the Taliban are. Being a pacifist does not make one a terrorism supporter. The logic is absurd.

Clinton and Obama should seize this opportunity to remind voters that this is the exact type of f*cked up thinking that got them into Iraq in the first place.
Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

