"Brave"

The above picture says it all. Michelle Englot is having a week she will never forget. The Saskatchewan skip is somehow playing through the grief of losing her father on the eve of the Scott Tournament of Hearts, and she’s playing well. She played yesterday morning and afternoon, went to the funeral last night, and returns to the ice this afternoon. How she is able to do it is beyond me. I hope she makes the playoffs, because that would be a wonderful ending to the story.

For once the Scott has run parallel to February Break – and I couldn’t be happier! I have watched so much curling this week. It’s fantastic! A few interesting storylines have emerged. One is the mediocre at best play of the defending Canadian and World champions. Kelly Scott and Co. have not found their rhythm yet, and it’s showing on the scoreboard. A team known for its precise shotmaking and ability to play defense has allowed far too many steals this week, including 4 in its loss to Saskatchewan. Former Canadian and World champion Jennifer Jones is also having a less than stellar week, uncharacteristically allowing Alberta to steal in four straight ends in last night’s tilt.

Another storyline, at least to me, is the Saskatchewan-born skips who top the leaderboard. Both Shannon Kleibrink and Sherry Middaugh come from small-town Saskatchewan, which makes their success a little easier to handle. Kleibrink’s third, Amy Nixon, is also from Saskatchewan, which confirms the fact that half of Alberta’s population is originally from Saskatchewan.

I’m now going to move the focus from curling to football; I’m sure you’re not shocked. The news broke late last night that former Rider Reggie Hunt has signed with Montreal Alouettes. All I can say is at least he went to an Eastern Division team. Seeing him in a Lion or Eskimos uniform would have been unbearable.

I couldn’t have been happier when Eddie Davis re-signed with the Riders late last week. I figured Hunt was gone, and with the trade of Fred Perry, the Riders needed Davis to return in order to keep some semblance of continuity on the defensive side of the ball. I still think ET has something up his sleeve in regards to the Fred Perry trade. The Riders certainly don’t need another young quarterback, as they have a couple of good ones, so it wouldn’t surprise me if the Riders flip Steven Jyles to another team.

And let me go on one rant. Kent Austin, you suck. I was disappointed in your decision to leave us, but I understood. But at least keep your remaining committments to the province. You committed to being a keynote speaker at an event this weekend, but you’ve now told organizers that you’re “too busy” with your new job to see it through. With all due respect, get your ass up here and speak! At the very least, you owe us that much. Grrr…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

