"My, Oh My"

I can never remember laughing as much as I have in the past 48 hours. From Saturday night’s shenanigans to this afternoon’s “Cold War as Theatre” class, I have spent most of my time lmao (which is just found out means ‘laughing my ass off).

First, if you thought the Sarah Silverman/Matt Damon video was funny, wait until you see Jimmy Kimmel’s response…

I have no idea how Kimmel got all of those A-listers to star in his video (especially Brad Pitt and Harrision Ford!!), but this video, coupled with Silverman’s first swipe, will go down in history as some of the funniest stuff ever made.

Now I have to explain “Cold War as Theatre.” Basically, the class was split into groups which pretended to be American State Department speech writers, and wrote about the perceived Communist threat. The rhetoric was beyond hilarious. One person referred to the USSR as “The Big Red Dog.” WTF? Clifford is the only ‘big red dog’ I know! Someone else used the phrase “Iron Finger” to describe Russia. But what was even funnier were the PERFORMANCES of these speeches. One guy almost brought me to tears as he kept talking about the CCF threat in Canada, his voice booming, hand slamming the podium. I was laughing that hard. Another guy chanelled some bizzare combination of JFK and Harry Truman. And then there were the group names: United Front for the Liberation of Hungary, Justice League, Xenophobic Jingos. The list of funnies goes on and on…

But now the fun is over. The next month and a bit will fly by. I’ve got 4 essays, a couple of assignments and then finals. In other words, I have a hell of a lot of work to do, and not a lot of time left to do it…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

