"Crybaby"

I twinged something in my back last night. I don’t know how, but by 11:00, my back was absolutely killing me. I went to bed, and woke up unable to move. Seriously. With much pain, I’ve been able to finally move around and loosen up my muscles. But wow – what horrible pain. I now understand a little of what people with chronic back pain go through. Ouch.

Anyway, I am not the only ‘crybaby’ today. Our PM is cryin’ up a storm over the $1 million dollar life insurance policy scam that came to light last week. And he’s so steamed that he’s decided to sue the Liberal party for libel.

Just for the record, I’d like to state that in my oh so humble opinion, this is just getting ridiculous. I’d be in favour of turfing the entire lot of MPs we currently have and letting the Governor General run the country. I’m beyond tired of the constant political wheeling and dealing. WOULD SOMEONE JUST GOVERN THE COUNTRY?!?! Back to today’s events…
Harper is NOT suing for comments made in the House of Commons. By convention, anything said within the House is subject to parliamentary privilege, whereby comments made are protected from any type of legal recourse. In other words, you can say anything you want in the House of Commons, and nobody can do a thing about it. The purpose of parliamentary privilege is to allow open debate and dissenting opinions. But more often than not, it is used to make something out of nothing. In this case, though, Harper is suing over comments made on the Liberal party’s website.
My opinion? Harper has a hell of a lot of nerve suing the Liberals for libel considering his treatment of Liberal Ralph Goodale and the income trust leak. Goodale said he was innocent of any internal leaks, and the RCMP came to the same conclusion, despite what the Harper and the Conservatives alleged. Goodale could have sued Harper for libel, but he didn’t.
Personally, I think Harper’s suit is an overreaction. He seems to have forgotten that he’s a POLITICIAN. And politicians are notorious for mudslinging and digging for dirt. And just remember: it wasn’t the Liberals who broke the allegations of Cadman’s $1 million dollar payoff. It was ‘The Globe and Mail,’ and the Cadmans themselves. Why isn’t Harper suing them?
From a political standpoint, Harper has to be careful. The libel suit looks like a deliberate attempt to push any Ethics Committee investigation, or the public for that matter, off the trail of the money, and to instead focus on a Harper-Dion duel. It’s a serious risk Harper is taking. If it works, it’s a brilliant move. But if it doesn’t, and Canadians become convinced that Harper is trying to hide something, the Conservatives may go down.
Then Harper will have reason to REALLY cry…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

