"Sure as Sh*t"

I’m listening to Kathleen Edwards’ new album, “Asking for Flowers,” and I’ve fallen in love with her all over again. There aren’t as many ‘fast’ tracks this time around, but the album is brilliant nonetheless. Listen. Now. And listen to “Failer” and “Back to Me” while you’re at it.

My favourite post out of the bloggers I read on a daily basis has to be Calgary Grit, whose post following the Alberta election results simply reads:

Dear Alberta,
Seriously?
Yours Truly,
Calgary Grit

I really don’t understand Albertans. The Conservatives have done nothing in their last term to warrant a return to office, yet they’ve elected 73 MLAs (at last count) – 10 seats short of controlling the ENTIRE assembly.

The worst part? The province was clamouring for change. This reminds me of the 2004 US election, except that instead of the bumbling incumbent barely ekeing out a victory, he manages to somehow engineer a massive landslide. The Liberals couldn’t take advantage of the electorate’s mood, though I suspect there was probably a lot of vote-splitting between them and the NDP. Too bad.

The really scary part? The Conservatives only garnered 53% of the popular vote.

Now, I’m not a proportional representation fan. I think unstable minorities isn’t better for democracy than our current system. Plus, I fear that some member of some silly fringe party may gain the balance of power in a minority situation. Imagine how that would work out. And don’t even get me started on the problems that party lists could create. But when I see such a miscarriage of political will (how’s THAT for a turn of phrase?), even I think PR wouldn’t be so bad.

The fact is, only 53% of Albertans are happy with the Conservatives; 47% are not. Yet the Conservatives control 88% of the assembly. Tell me that makes sense.

If you can, you shouldn’t be reading my blog. You should be in Ed Stelmach’s ‘new’ government.
UPDATE: Voter turnout was an appalling 44.7%. Obviously the Conservatives were able to mobilize their vote, while the Liberals were not.
Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

