"Gotta Get Back"

I LOVE new music Tuesday! I realize that as I write this it’s already early Wednesday morning, but does it really matter?

Anyway, today’s finds were golden. In no particular order:
1. Shelby Lynne – I Am Shelby Lynne – Wow. Wow. Wow. A mix of old school vibe with classic country. And that voice. She never oversings, never overpowers. It’s always just right.
2. Sia – Some People Have Real Problems – I introduced you to Sia via a performance on Conan O-Brien. She comes off as quirky and kind of obnoxious, but the album is anything but. It’s a real mix of styles and harmonies, and her unique voice allows so many colours to shine through. Love.
3. Brad Paisley/Carrie Underwood – “O Love” – It’s nothing special, per say, but its harmonies are sublime. That’s why it’s worth a listen.
4. Martha Wainwright – “You Cheated Me” – I am soooooooo glad iTunes brought back their ‘Best of Store’ feature, ’cause I was lost without it! Wainwright, the sister of acclaimed singer/songerwriter Rufus Wainwright, never ever ever ever ever ever ever ever would have cracked my songlist if it had not been for the suggestion of ‘Best of Store.’ And now? I can’t stop playing the suggested track.

***************
I watched A LOT of curling today. You’ve gotta love it when The Brier takes over the airwaves. Though I bristled at every TSN update that kept playing up tonights Leafs/Flyers game as a do-or-die situation for the Leafs. Come on – does ANYBODY believe they’re actually going to make the playoffs?
Things got REAL interesting today at the Brier. Pat Simmons had a great day, besting Glenn Howard tonight, which means both rinks have 6-1 records. Kevin Martin (geez, I was just about to call him Paul Martin – what an insult!) sits on top the leaderboard at 7-0. And his team isn’t missing a whole helluva lot right now. I pick them to win. Though Simmons might have a shot this year. He’s got his ‘A’ game right now. Kerry Burtnyk got his ass handed to him tonight by Martin, and Brad Gushue beat BC. Now Burtnyk only has one more win than Gushue. It’ll be a real interesting fight to the playoffs here.
And the curling itself? Ridiculous.. The ice has lots of swing, there’s lots of rocks in play – it’s all good.
**************
Ugh. I’m writing my second essay of the week, and it’s not going so well. I mean, I could write twelve pages about Hillary Clinton, Barack Obama, and American foreign policy, but it’s the citations that are driving me nuts. Everything I know I’ve learned by reading hundreds of op-eds and watching hours of CNN the past couple of months. Now I have to find sources to back up my opinions. Pain. In. The. Ass.
****************
Speaking of pains in the ass, I was headed to the grocery store late this afternoon to pick up a few things. But when trying to get in my truck, I slipped on the ice right beside the driver’s side door, and ended up on my ass, half under the truck. I’m lucky I didn’t crack my head. Somehow I banged up my knee in the process, but that’s no big deal. The worst part is that I was soaked. Oh the joys of spring…
Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

