"You Cheated Me" – Part I

I hardly wrote a thing all week because I couldn’t think of anything I wanted to write about. But now that I think about it, there’s actually quite a bit. So I’ve decided to split this post in two. Part I will be all sports, and Part II will be all politics. So get ready for some FOOTBALL (have I mentioned how much I miss football?)!

The Riders announced the signing of free agent Omarr Morgan this week. The guy has possibly THE WORST timing in Rider history. He broke into the league in 2000 after Roy Shivers recruited him; the next year he was already a Division All-Star. He continued to excel in the secondary and became one of the most formidable forces in the Rider defense.

But then came 2007 and free agency. Morgan left the Riders and signed with the Eskimos. Big mistake. Can you imagine being Omarr Morgan? After being a Rider his entire career and coming close to playing in the championship game a number of times, he leaves the Riders, only to sign with a team that ends up last in the West, and then his former team goes all the way and wins the Grey Cup. That must have sucked big time. It makes me sad just thinking about it.

And now he’s back. I’ll admit that I’m not as sure of the Riders repeating as I was a few months ago, so I’m not sure his timing is any better. Wouldn’t it be a kick in the ass if he ends his career as a Rider, but with no Grey Cup ring because he let $$$$ come before team for one freaking year. It’s sad, but it could definitely happen.

And now, CURLING!

I have watched curling for years, but I don’t think I’ve ever watched as much curling as I have this year. Somehow it just worked out that I could watch at least one draw every day, if not more.

As for my predictions? Well, 3 out of 4 isn’t so bad. I had it picked right that Howard, Martin and Simmons would all qualify for the playoffs, but the hometown favourite, Burtnyk started out strong but couldn’t finish.

Most surprising rink of the rink? Definitely BC and Quebec. BC was a pleasant surprise, while Quebec was not. I’m pretty surprised BC beat the Gushue rink this morning; then again, Gushue’s squad was very inconsistent this week. Gushue himself looked grumpy all week.

I was quite surprised by Simmons’ performance this week. In his past three trips to the Brier he hasn’t been very successful, and I’ll be honest – I expected him to choke again this week. But he and his team had a couple of bounces go their way this week which helped them finish at 9-2.

I’m shocked to see Glenn Howard in the 3-4 game this afternoon. I would have definitely had him and Martin pegged to be in the 1-2 game tonight, with Simmons in the 3-4 game. Funny how things work out.

I still think Martin will win the whole thing. His team has been ridiculously sharp all week. It’ll take a miracle for Howard, Simmons or Ursel to upset him.

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

