"You Cheated Me" – Apology Version

So Part 2 never appeared. And with good reason. I worked at 6:30 am on both Saturday and Sunday, got some sort of cold/flu thing and now have little to no voice. I’m sorry if I inconvenienced your daily blog reading!

Today was filled with – sleeping. I had a four-hour ‘nap’ this afternoon. Mmmm.

I’m just going to write about a bunch of non-related items…

1. I’m still loving the Brad Paisley/Carrie Underwood “Oh Love” collaboration. She oversings, like usual, but it’s such a beautiful song.

2. I’ve discovered a fabulous new artist: Martha Wainwright. Brilliant stuff. May rival my love for Kathleen Edwards, and that’s saying a lot…

3. I went to Wallyworld tonight to return a couple of things and pick up some others, and Tennyson decided to pick a fight with me about the Riders. I told him I wasn’t in the mood for fighting, to which he responded: “This is the perfect time to pick a fight with you! You don’t have the energy to defend yourself!” I told him to get lost.

4. The Liberals pick up 3 of 4 byelection seats today. I’m not surprised they lost the Northern Saskatchewan riding. All the hoopla over the nomination of the Liberal candidate helped seal the deal for the Tories. Having Bob Rae and Martha Hall Findlay in the House of Commons will certainly help the Liberals.

5. Who said it would be a Martin/Howard Brier final and that Martin would win? Oh yeah – it was me! Though I have to say, if not for one picked rock, Pat Simmons might have come out from the shadwos and won the whole thing. You have to feel for the guy. He and his team have never played a better game than the one against Alberta. Damn.

6. Deciding to GO OUT at midnight when you work in 6 1/2 hours is never a good idea…

7. Happy St. Patrick’s Day, though I really could care less.

8. If you haven’t heard about Bill C-10, here’s a primer:

WHAT IS BILL C-10? Bill C-10 is a long, omnibus Bill of technical changes
to tax laws; but hidden away in there is a provision that would allow the
Heritage Minister to withhold tax credits if a production was considered
‘contrary to public policy’. We are opposed to this part of the legislation
because:

1. It is undemocratic: This controversial new provision to screen the
content of productions in awarding tax credits was never debated in the House of
Commons, because it was hidden away in a long, technical piece of legislation.

2. It gives tremendous discretion to the Government of the day to shape the
content of Canadian film and TV. Some believe that the current Government has a
moral/religious agenda that they’re looking forward to imposing, but even if
this isn’t true, C-10 opens this door to all future Governments.

3. It will badly hurt the Canadian film and TV industry: Films and TV
programs apply for tax credits late in the game, after scripts have been written
and principal photography completed. They use the predictability of tax credits
to apply for federal subsidies, loans, and Telefilm Canada grants. With the
proposed new guidelines, films and TV programs with even a whiff of controversy
will become risky for funders, and artists will be under strong pressure to
self-censor. Indeed, all productions will find it more difficult to secure
financing due to this uncertainty.

This is serious trouble, folks. But, as always, Rick Mercer is able to make something funny out of something so ridiculous.

9. Speaking of funny, Red Canuck posted this awhile ago, but I kept forgetting to link to it. It’s his commentary that’s the funny part.

10. I am beyond ecstatic that TSN has finally decided that it’s worth it to have a CFL analyst ALL YEAR. It’s about freaking time. Duane Forde has joined the team, and he’s already posted a couple of columns. This one on the Kerry Joseph trade, though, is very good and should help to ease the nerves of many Rider fans.

I guess that’s my Top 10 for today…

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

