"Over and Over Again"

Sorry for the lack of posts lately, gang.

  • Those of you who know me well know that when I find something new that I like, I become obsessed with it. So right now I’m obsessed with Ashley Monroe, my newest musical muse. I would place her in the traditional country vein, as there are definitely some bluegrass roots in her music. But of course it’s a more neo-traditional country. There’s something about her songwriting that just hits you right in the gut. Listen to ‘Satisfied’ and tell me that’s not a brilliant song. And her voice. It has a definite twang, but a twang that’s endearing – not annoying (see Terri Clark). And she’s so very good at not overusing it, so that when she needs to use the heft of it, it surprises you. It’s also very agile, which allows her put a lot of twists and turns into her melodies. She actually wrote ‘Flat on the Floor,’ which is on Carrie Underwood’s latest album. Personally, I like Monroe’s version better. It’s got a bluegrass tinge to it and her voice fits it like a glove. I’m in love…
  • Yesterday my sister and I ventured out to Rosthern for my Grandma Lehmann’s 75th birthday. She looked absolutely fantastic, and we had a good time. My cousin and I watched “Dan in Real Life,” which made me cry. I don’t often do that with movies, so I was surprised. But besides that, the day was good. I had cake, I visited, I relaxed. And it was nice to get out of the city and just drive. The sunset was gorgeous, too. Ahhh…
  • MUAH HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA!!!! It does my heart so much good to see the hated Ottawa Senators sit in 7th in the Eastern Conference. And they might miss the playoffs yet! Wouldn’t that be something??
  • I’m drafting a letter to send to Premier Brad ‘I can’t distinguish between strip malls and community centers’ Wall about the sad situation of Station 20 West. More later once I get the letter done. And if you don’t know what I’m talking about, read this.
  • Tomorrow and Friday I get to babysit Phaedra – all day!!!! I cannot tell you how excited I am!
  • I made $14.81 by bringing in my recyclables today. It pays to save all of those orange juice containers.
  • I CANNOT WAIT for playoff hockey!!
  • Let’s hope Zimbabwe’s dictator, Robert Mugabe, is finally ousted. The Globe and Mail’s Stephanie Nolen has had great coverage.
  • Interesting article on how Stephen Harper does not appeal to women. Really?? (PS – The title is stupid – aligning Venus and Mars? Come on…) I never would have guessed…
  • I really, really, really, really detest Slate.com’s coverage of Hillary Clinton’s presidential campaign. They’re calling it a Deathwatch.
  • FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS IS RETURNING FOR A FOURTH SEASON!!!! Now I need the Season 2 DVD to catch up!
  • I LOVE April for many things, but the income tax refund that comes with it has got to be one of my favourite things!
  • Autotrader.ca should be ashamed of itself. It’s latest advertisement finds a woman and a man at a bar. The man asks the woman how old she is. She says she’s 37; he looks about the same. He then tells her, “Ooo. That’s too bad. I’m looking for someone a little younger.” And he leaves. The guy then goes home and gets on Autotrader.ca, while the announcer says something about Autotrader allowing you to look for exactly what you want. Sad. A 37-year-old woman is considered ‘old.’ A 37-year-old-man isn’t. Ageism and sexism in the same ad. Way to be, Autotrader.
  • Yeah for getting to babysit Phaedra tomorrow AND Friday! The only thing that worries me is that I might get a severe case of baby-itis…
Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

