"Here I Am"

I’m so excited! I found a LIVE recording of the great and fabulous Leontyne Price singing Samuel Barber songs! I now have her singing my favourite Barber song, ‘Nocturne.’ Stunning. Since Saturday’s ‘day at the opera,’ I’ve been listening to a lot of my favourite classical vocal repertoire. Art songs and arias are home to some of the most beautiful music and words ever written; it’s sad that very few people hear them…

Before I write anything else, I have to encourage to read a special report in The Globe and Mail called ‘The Boy in the Moon.’ I read it awhile ago, but kept forgetting to share the link. It’s the story of the family of a Globe and Mail writer whose son has a condition called CFC. It’ll break your heart, but makes you hopeful in the end. It’s one of the best and most moving series of articles I’ve ever read. And I read a lot.

This blog is turning into a commentary on current events as of late. But that’s okay. It’s my blog. Once football season rolls around, it’ll turn into a Rider blog. Meh. Could be worse.

But since the NHL playoffs are starting ASAP, I need to make my picks. So here goes…

Western Conference
Detroit in 5
San Jose in 6
Colorado in 6
Dallas in 7

Eastern Conference
Montreal in 5
Pittsburgh in 5
Philadelphia in 7
NY Rangers in 7

And the Stanley Cup goes to: San Jose. I don’t know why. Just a hunch. And they’ve gotta win it one of these years.

Honestly, though, I really think this year’s playoffs are a crapshoot. Usually there are 3 or 4 solid teams that you know are going to win. This year, though, it could be anybody’s guess as to who’s going to win. Especially in the East. Who in their right mind would have picked Montreal to win the Eastern Conference? If you said, “Me!” YOU’RE LYING. And I didn’t think Pittsburgh would be THAT good. For Montreal and Pittsburgh, it all comes down to whether their young goaltenders can handle the pressure. I think one of them will get to the finals, but Thornton will lead his Sharks to their first Cup, riding the consistency of one Evgeni Nabakov. Either Thornton or Nabakov will win the Conn Smythe.

I’m also entering two playoff hockey pools. Let’s hope I actually win some big money this time!

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

