"All I Want to Do"


All I want to do is…

See some FOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOTBAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAALL!!!!

Oh my goodness gracious. I am sooooooo so very, very, very nervous about this evening’s game. As I’ve been reading and watching all of the season previews, I’ve noticed two very different attitudes about the Riders. Those inside the province believe the team can win again – and expect it. THAT’S why I’m nervous. I expect us to win. It’s a bit of a new feeling, one filled with so much anticipation and maybe a little too much expectation. The second attitude is that of everyone outside the province. They’ve basically stripped us of our title as ‘Grey Cup Champions’ before 1 damn down of football has even been played!! NOBODY expects the Riders to repeat as champions. Except for their fans.

I so very badly want us to prove them wrong. To show them that we can lose our coach, quarterback, linebacker and defensive end and be just fine. In the world of football, everyone is expendable and replaceable. I believe in the talent of Eric Tillman and the leadership of Ken Miller. I guess I’m frustrated at the fact no one is even giving us a chance to prove ourselves.

But enough of the philosophical nonsense. Here are the storylines I’ll be watching for today…

  • Marcus Crandell: If I was him, I’d be having a hell of a hard time sleeping tonight. Say what you want, but the weight of Rider nation is on this guy’s shoulders, and that ain’t easy coming off a Grey Cup-winning season. Marcus needs to remember that he is not KJ, and nor should he be. We fans need to remember that Marcus is a very different QB than KJ and to not expect him to be KJ.
  • Offensive line: How does Gene Makowsky adjust to being in the middle? How is Jeremy O’Day’s ankle? How does Glenn January fit into things? Lots of questions about these front five.
  • Receivers: Can Adarius Bowman step up? Will Andy Fantuz get off to a slow start like last year? Can DJ Flick repeat his 1000+ yard form?
  • Running backs: I just want Wes Cates and Neal Hughes to survive the game unscathed.
  • Defensive line: Who takes the open spot – Ronald Flemons or Kitwana Jones? Does John Chick pick up where he left off? Will Marcus Adams and Scott Schultz be even better now that they’re a little lighter?
  • Linebackers: Does Anton McKenzie start? Does Maurice Lloyd continue to develop well?
  • Defensive backs/corners: Who the hell starts?? There were only a billion DBs in camp…
  • Kicking: Does Luca Congi continue his consistency? Can Jamie Boreham get his punts a little deeper?
  • Special teams: For the love of all things Green and White, will SOMEONE please find us a freaking punt return guy???????? Please, Weston Dressler, show us some flash today…

I have been waiting for this day ever since November 26th. It’s finally here.

GO RIDERS GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Snap

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

