"Wasted"

I can’t believe what I’m about to do, but I’m going to do it. I’m going to defend Jessica Simpson’s first foray into country music, called ‘Come On Over.’

I haven’t been able to stop singing it the past week. What is this world coming to…

This weekend my siblings and I ventured out to Rosthern for the 2008 Lehmann Family Reunion. We headed out Saturday afternoon and met Mom and Dad at the farm. Sadie was so terribly excited to see us that she couldn’t sit still the entire evening! We watched the Rider game at home. Mom and Dad left for the campfire/hot dog roast hosted by the reunion before the 1st half of the game was over. The rest of us stayed at home and watched the rest of the game. FANTASTIC decision on our part! One of the BEST games I’ve seen – EVER! After the game we headed to the campfire and spread the good news – the Riders had won!!

On Sunday I woke up at 6:30 after a fitful night’s sleep. I was ready at 7:45 to be at Rosthern High School for 8:00 and the beginning of registration. My family was not ready, though, so we only got there around 8:30. After registration, there was a program, lunch, then free time for visiting. Thanks to my Mom who spearheaded the whole thing. She did such an amazing job – no surprise!

The only problem was that my siblings and I really had no one to visit with. The way the generations line up makes me the oldest of all the 3rd cousins. My brother and sister then follow. Then there are a good five years until EVERYONE else follows. So we’re kind of our own little group. But we’re used to it. On both sides of our family, I’m the oldest grandchild, and my brother, sister and I were the only grandchildren for quite a few years until my aunts got married and started having kids.

Regardless, it was a lovely weekend – topped off by an incredible football game!!

But what the hell does this have to do with Jessica Simpson? Well, nothing, really. But the ride home last night got me thinking.

My brother and sister are C95 listeners; they’re not big country fans. I NEVER listen to the radio. I’d say I’m rather eclectic in my musical tastes, liking everything from country to classical, to pop and opera. So I indulged my siblings by putting C95 on the radio on the way home.

It was like nails on a chalkboard.

Every single blasted song sounded the same. Each had the same underlying beat, the too-synthesized vocals. Some of them were catchy, but geez – a little creativity, people!

Now I’m not going to defend Jessica Simpson herself. In my opinion she uses her chest to sell records rather than her voice (which isn’t overly impressive). But the same can be said for artists in all genres.

There are differences, though. Simpson’s song has a melody which reaches more than an octave. And it’s an intriguing melody. There’s a lot of guitar – no synthesizer in sight. It’s got a good beat – but it’s not that stupid hand-clapping thing featured on most pop songs. The lyrics are down-to-earth and real. Think of ‘Touch My Body’ by Mariah Carey or ‘I Kissed a Girl’ by Katy Perry. The titles/lyrics are meant to shock you; they’re not ‘real.’

Maybe I’m just a musical snob. But I just can’t stand the pop world right now. Everything is fake. It’s all about the dance moves, the videos, the sex – it’s not about GOOD MUSIC. I understand the entertainment value and that part of the music industry. But for once – could someone just step up to the microphone with their voice and leave the theatrics at home?

Jessica Simpson’s video COMPLETELY nullifies all of what I’ve been saying, but if you just listen to ‘Come on Over’ you think, “Well that’s just a great song.” No vocal pyrotechnics. Just a good tune, decent lyrics and a message us normal people can relate to.

REAL music.

1 comment
  1. Megan said:

    I can’t listen to the radio these days either. Ipods have saved the world from the crappy radio stations we have 🙂 No talking, no commercials, and only the music I like! AND it doesn’t repeat the same songs every hour! I’m a bit of a music snob too. Musical talent is definitely a must for anything I listen to.

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

