"Love"

We all know Christian Bale
(aka the man who will one day madly fall in love with me)
plays Batman…

But maybe Wes Cates really is Batman.
You’ve gotta wonder. Hmmm…

I am completely and utterly in ‘love’ with Sugarland’s new album – ‘Love on the Inside.’ So many good tunes with great lyrics and catchy melodies.

Work has been unbearable the past three weeks. We’ve been without a manager and I’ve had to unexpectedly step up and take leadership with the Front End. It’s been very tiring and very stressful, so I haven’t been up to blogging that much when I’m home.

But I got a break last night when I went out for supper with friends and then headed to the Galaxy to see ‘The Dark Knight.’ We had tickets to the 10:10 showing but found ourselves in the very front row. Then I got the brilliant idea to go sit in the 10:20 showing – who would know? So we did and found way better seats.

I LOVED the movie. Heath Ledger was even better than I thought, and Aaron Eckhardt as Two-Face was a good surprise. Christian Bale was, of course, the hotness. I didn’t realize he’s British. So I looked up some interview footage of him and swooned when I heard his accent. Is it possible to love someone you’ve never met?

‘Dark Knight’ is dark, twisted, malevolent and full of questions centering on our morality in a modern world. I was rather intrigued by the large amount of 9/11 imagery and inferences. And no, I’m not crazy, though I think my friends thought I was. Search ‘Dark Night’ and ‘9/11’ and you’ll see that a lot of people saw what I did.

Go see ‘Dark Knight.’ It’s an absolute must-see. And I don’t normally do comic book movies.

But on to other things. Here are my 3 stars from last Saturday’s stunning victory against the Alouettes…

OFFENSIVE STAR: TIE – #4 – DARIAN DURANT, QUARTERBACK AND #20 – WES CATES, RUNNING BACK

It’s a week later and I STILL can’t decide between these two! What an offensive showing on Saturday! Durant was solid AGAIN in his 2nd start with 349 yards in the air and 3 TDs. The only problem was his 2 INTs, but he bounced back after every pick with a drive which negated the interception’s effect. Just think what the score would have been without Montreal’s 14 points off turnovers: 41-19. Did I mention he had 52 yards rushing, too?

Wes Cates had yet another strong game for the Riders. He’s definitely in the early running for MOP in the CFL. His first 100+ yard rushing game, and he added another 88 yards in the air. He’s a keeper and possibly Saskatchewan’s franchise player right now. And he’s the man who said, “If you ain’t ready to play 4 quarters, you aren’t ready to play with the Riders.” And Saturday the Riders proved his point.

DEFENSIVE PLAYER: #42 – ANTON MCKENZIE, LINEBACKER

It was a battle between former Rider-now Alouette Reggie Hunt and the man who now fills his spot – Anton McKenzie. And the two put up a hell of a show.

Hunt had a monster day, but McKenzie turned in a pretty good performance, too. He had 5 tackles, one forced fumble and an interception, all of which led to the Riders’ comeback victory.

Enough said.

SPECIAL TEAMS PLAYER: #10 – LUCA CONGI, PLACEKICKER

Luca keeps having luck go his way. He nailed all 4 of his field goal attempts, including one which just grazed the goalpost on its way through. His accuracy and consistency are causing people to compare him to Robokicker himself – Dave Ridgeway. With all of the close games to date in the CFL this season, having a more than reliable kicker in Congi must make Rider head coach Ken Miller sleep much better at night.

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

