"Simple"

I am peeved. The Rider message boards have gone completely nuts. So I wrote the following ‘rant’ on one of them:

That’s it. I’ve had it. Now it’s time for me to rant.

I am extremely disappointed at some of the comments being made on this board in the wake of yesterday’s loss. Unfortunately, though, I’m not surprised. I was certain the ‘armchair GMs/coaches/QBs’ would come out in in droves, and they have.

What is most frustrating to me is the amount of attacking that has gone on over the past 24 hours. The same fans who lavished praise and wanted to make ET and Kent Austin co-Premiers in November are now trying to run them out of town. And you know what they say: the most popular person in Saskatchewan is the Riders’ 2nd string QB.

As fans we need to remember that we never know the WHOLE story. We are not in the locker room, we are not in the planning sessions, we are not in the therapist’s office or at the doctor’s appointments. We can comment and second-guess all we want, but we don’t have all of the information at our disposal – nor should we.

Let’s have a little faith!! I think some see last year’s championship and this season’s 6-0 opening run as too-good-to-be-true. They fear that the last three games are no more than the return of the old Riders, the Riders that didn’t know how to win. I know we only have three championships in 90-some years, but it’s time to let go of that ‘loser’ attitude and just call this season’s lows what the are: bad luck.

What we forget is the fact that all of these injuries wear on a team, not just physically, but mentally. Look at Gene Makowsky. He has played guard, tackle and now center (and he did a great job yesterday!) this year. Three different positions, three different roles, three different philosophies. Can you imagine going to your job and being placed in a different position every week while the same is happening to all those around you? Don’t you think your work performance would suffer? Would you use it as an excuse? I would, and I think we’d all be lying if we say we wouldn’t.

This team gives all of itself every week; we can’t question that. The guys fly around at practice, they hold extra film sessions, they put forth a solid effort every week. And what do we do? We hide behind our computers and complain and whine, believing we could do it better.

Really?? Is that what ‘Rider Pride’ is all about??

If it is, I want no part in it.

I would like to personally thank Eric, his staff and his players for turning this franchise in a positive direction. It has been refreshing to see the organization commit itself to winning, and it has never been better to be a Rider fan.

Finally, I think we all need to step away from our keyboards and take a collective breath. All of us want on here want to see the Riders win, but our behaviour on this board is bordering on the absurd. We are all frustrated but we need to give this team our full support. It more than deserves it after the 8-5 record it has earned.

I refuse to attack this team. There is more effort and more accountability put forth by this team every week than in the past decade. I am tired of the constant sniping and knee-jerk reactions. That is not true fan behaviour.

Besides – it’s just a football game.

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

