Norway – Day Five

UPDATE: My camera may not be as broken as I thought it was. It still seems to take great pictures. Keep your fingers crossed!!
____________________________

I am really, really angry right now. I broke my new camera. I dropped it on the sidewalk while we were taking group pictures this evening. The lens is cracked and its cover is broken. @#$#%!$%!#%%!!@#T!#R$@!T$!$T@!T$@%$%Y!TY@T%. WHY MUST I DROP EVERYTHING?!?!?!?!?!?!? Thank goodness I have Michelle’s. Shelly – I will do everything in my power not to break it!! I can’t take the camera back to Walmart, either. It’s my fault that I broke it. @#%!%%$#%.

Anyway…

Today was a ‘lighter’ day – not in terms of the material we covered at the university, but in terms of what we did afterwards and the pictures I took. The Bodø winds subsided today. On the way home, it began to snow so gently; without the wind it was stunning.

This morning’s lectures were beyond boring. It’s not that the presentation or the presenter was boring, but the material just didn’t interest me in the slightest. Hearing about multi-level governance of UNESCO World Heritage sites and national parks that cross borders and moose migration patterns the governance of moose hunting for three hours – come on, you’ve got to admit it would have bored you.

This afternoon’s lecture was much more interesting. It was on indigenous rights. It’s all very complicated, but the lecturer gave us an impressive presentation that covered the history of indigenous rights from colonization all the way to the present-day.

After class we went downtown, wandered around a little and then went out for supper. We went to this little cafe where I had bacon and eggs for $23. Yeah. Food is ridiculously expensive in Norway. $4 for a small coffee. $5 for a bottle of juice.

You want to know what else is expensive? Withdrawing money from an ATM. I checked my bank account tonight and it cost me $45.88 to take out money on Monday. I haven’t done so since, thank goodness. Why is it so high? Because it’s a Credit Union. Those idiots couldn’t even get me Norwegian currency unless I gave them two weeks to get it. It’s not like I asked for a bunch of Zimbabwe currency. But don’t get me started on that.

I didn’t give out any drugs today. I’m amazed that no one has any medication with them! No one had any gravol or ibuprofen or pepto bismol! How do you travel without the basics?!?!

I’m sorry, but I’m a little grumpy because of my camera.

Anyway, tomorrow we have a half-day of lectures and then a farewell lunch. After that, we’re FREE! We’re planning on taking a ferry to the Lofoten Islands on Saturday. Apparently the islands are world-famous. I’m hoping there will be some good shopping there. I haven’t bought anything for anyone yet – myself included. Touristy, authentic Norwegian stuff is hard to come by, mostly because it’s not tourist season. But I have some ideas. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

