Norway – Day Seven

It was soooooooo nice to sleep in this morning! But we were all still pretty tired today. By mid-afternoon we were dragging ourselves downtown and wishing we had a ride back to the hostel.

At 12:30 a group of us met in the lobby to go the Norwegian Air Force Museum, another one of Bodø’s ‘must-see’ attractions. I wasn’t sure what to expect until a did a little Google search this morning. And by the way, it’s really annoying that every search I do comes up in Norwegian.

Anyway, what I found out was that the museum was massive. And in person, it didn’t disappoint.

The building is shaped like propeller. The center has the gift shop, reception and at the top, a control tower. Each side of the propeller has its own exhibits. The first side is a history of flight, while the second focuses on the Norwegian Air Force.

The first part has a flight simulator, which I was interested in trying. It was quite life-like. There were a couple of times when the simulator slanted to the extreme right that I thought I would slide to the other side, and another few where I wasn’t sure my stomach could handle the motion. But I made it!

Most of the major exhibits were in both English and Norwegian, but some things weren’t, which took away from the experience just a little bit. But the to-scale models of all the planes was something to see! I know nothing about planes, but think that now I can more appreciate their intricacy. I also learned a little bit about Norwegian history.

Speaking of English, I continue to be amazed at how well most Norwegians speak English. For some, their Norwegian accent is almost completely non-existent when they speak. I asked the woman at the museum gift shop today about the English curriculum in the schools. She said that Norwegians start learning to speak English at the age of 6. She also said the fact that a lot of the TV they watch is in English also helps them learn it. I also continue to be stunned at the warmth and hospitality of the Norwegian people. They are so helpful; we Canadians do not have the market cornered on niceness.

After our adventures at the museum, we walked downtown to grab some lunch/supper. We ate at the same place we did the other day, and it was good! We sat at the restaurant for a lot longer than we probably would have, as we weren’t looking forward to the walk home. All of us were tired today.

Before coming home, we stopped off at the local Co-op (pronounced ‘Coop,’ as in ‘chicken coop’) for a few supplies.

Tonight the clocks jump one hour ahead. Even though Canada and the US ‘spring forward’ earlier now, the rest of the world hasn’t. So as of tomorrow, Norway is 8 hours ahead of Saskatchewan. We didn’t know this until mid-week, and apparently forgot to tell Professor Garcea, who was taken aback when we told him about it yesterday. If we wouldn’t have known, we would have been late for our plane on Monday!

I doubt I’ll be going anywhere tomorrow. I need to do some work, pack my bags and clean up my room a little bit. It’s hard to believe that in a little more than 24 hours, we’ll be on our way back home!

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

