"Green is the Colour"

They did everything they could to give that one away.

Eight turnovers. EIGHT!!! But yet nine sacks. NINE!!!

I’m still scratching my head over this one.

The 1st quarter brought back memories of last year’s West semi-final loss against BC. In that game, the Riders had 3 turnovers in the first fifteen minutes of the game. The Riders had 3 turnovers in the 1st quarter of Friday night’s game.

Yikes.

But, it doesn’t matter how you win the game, as long as you win it, right?

Sort of.

The win makes me happy, but the atrocious tackling, ridiculous amount of turnovers, yicky special teams play on punts (the Riders had 2 punts blocked), and the Riders’ complete lack of offence in the 2nd half make me happier that it’s only the 1st game of the season.

There’s room for improvement.

Here are my three stars of the game:

OFFENSIVE STAR: #7 – WESTON DRESSLER, SLOTBACK
154 yards receiving on 7 catches

If this guy isn’t a Rider for life, I will renounce my home province and despise it forevermore. Dressler has come back stronger than last year, which was apparent in his ability to shed tackles and push through others for extra yardage. He’s made one hell of a start and should easily surpass the 1000 yard receiving mark again, if not lead the league in receiving. He’s become the Riders go-to-guy which is saying a lot – especially since he’s surrounded by Andy Fantuz and Jason Clermont. This performance from Dressler might make him the CFL’s offensive star of the week (but I think it’ll go to Toronto’s Jamal Robertson who had a few more yards than Dressler, plus a TD).

DEFENSIVE STAR: #90 – STEVIE BAGGS, DEFENSIVE END
2 tackles, 2 sacks, and 1 fumble recovery

I know that Omarr Morgan had more tackles and two interceptions. But Morgan benefitted from the all-out effort by Baggs. Whenever BC QB Buck Pierce was running around in the backfield, #90 was was on his tail. He created havoc for BC’s o-line and was a force all night. Wherever the action was, Baggs was there. I believe we finally have a suitable partner for John Chick at defensive end. I think he’ll help rejuvenate our d-line.

SPECIAL TEAMS STAR: #10 – LUCA CONGI, PLACEKICKER
2/2 on field goals; 3/3 on extra point converts

Luca was Luca. He made everything the Riders asked him to make.

Next game: July 11 @ TORONTO

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

