"Wild at Heart"


Why do the Riders always have to make things so damn DIFFICULT?!?!

I knew they were going to blow that 23-0 lead. I just knew it.

And I was right.

How can I team that allows NO first downs and actually holds the opposition to MINUS 11 yards in the first half (weird that I’ve seen negative yardage stats two weeks in a row when I’d never seen it before) and scores 23 unanswered points come back after halftime and morph into a completely different team?

Beats me.

Special teams were horrible yet again. Another game, another blocked kick. Kavis Reed had better be pulling all-nighters this week to figure out what’s going on with his special teams.

However, the Riders showed a little resiliency this week.

I guess that counts for something.

OFFENSIVE STARS: #20 – WES CATES, RUNNING BACK AND #82 – JASON CLERMONT, SLOTBACK
117 yards on 19 carries
4 catches for 66 yards

This was a coming-out party for Clermont. It took long enough, but offensive coordinator Paul LaPolice FINALLY listened and gave Clermont the ball. Here’s hoping it happens more and more often. As for Cates, he had a great game after a not-so-great game last week. Now he needs to be more consistent from game-to-game

DEFENSIVE STARS: #90 – STEVIE BAGGS, DEFENSIVE END, AND #97 – JOHN CHICK, DEFENSIVE END
1 tackle, 1 sack
2 sacks, 1 forced fumble

Having these two back in action together was a thing of beauty! Chick was a monster, and Baggs was all over the place. Apparently Baggs separated his shoulder during a play. He went to the sidelines, they popped it back in and he played the rest of the game. WOW! The pass rush that had ‘gone south’ the past couple of games was back. It, too, needs to be more consistent. For that to happen, Chick needs to stay healthy – and so does Baggs. Careful with that shoulder, Stevie!

SPECIAL TEAMS STAR: NO ONE

For the second straight week, no one gets the special teams award. The punting was horrible, there was a blocked kick and a fumble. While the returns were better than last week, they weren’t better by a whole lot. In the third quarter, Hamilton started every drive around middle field. If the special teams don’t shape up, it’s going to be hard for the Riders to be better than they are now.

NEXT WEEK: @ MONTREAL It’s a very short week for the Riders. They have two days of practice and then they leave for a Friday evening game in Montreal. It’ll be a big test for the Riders, especially since they have little prep time. I expect the Riders to lose this one; they never play well in Montreal.

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

