"Lead Me On"

Who cares if you win games when your coach says “Our men played their fannies off and I’m proud of them”?

Maybe I’m cranky or expecting more than I should, but congratulating professional athletes on playing great in a loss when they are paid to win is silly.

There’s a lot of talk about last night’s Rider game being a ‘moral victory.’

Moral victories don’t count in the standings.

Many are saying Durant had a solid game.

He had three interceptions.

And then there are the special teams. They’re horrible week in and week out.

No changes have been made.

The Riders keep thinking they’re better than they are. While it’s nice to see that they have confidence in themselves, I sure as hell do not share it.

There are definite problems on this Rider team, and the team doesn’t seem to care.

Thank goodness next week is a bye. I need a break.

OFFENSIVE STAR: #7 – WESTON DRESSLER, SLOTBACK
8 catches for 179 yards
3 punt returns for 38 yards (one of which a big gain called back because of a penalty)

Just when I think I can’t love Dressler anymore, he goes and puts in a performance like he did last night and I fall in love a little bit more. Everybody’s freaking out about making sure Andy Fantuz is re-signed. As far as I’m concerned, Dressler should be the priority. RE-SIGN HIM NOW!! Too bad the Bombers’ Fred Reid had a record-breaking night on Friday. If not for him, Dressler would have been the offensive player of the week, hands down.

DEFENSIVE STAR: #90 – STEVIE BAGGS, DEFENSIVE END
10 tackles, 2 sacks, 1 forced fumble

Since John Chick has returned to the lineup, Baggs’ gave has gone to another level. He’s become a real leader on the defence and was one of the main reasons why the Riders still had a chance to win last night’s game in the fourth quarter. Baggs continues to make a case for defensive player of the year.

SPECIAL TEAMS STAR: NO ONE

[…………..]

NEXT WEEK: The Riders have a bye and don’t play again until Labour Day when Winnipeg comes to town. Lots are predicting an easy win for the Riders, but after the Bombers’ great performance last night I don’t think a win is a given. I think it’ll be close, but the Riders will send former Rider QB Michael Bishop home with a loss.

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

