“You Oughta Know” (yet again)

This photograph says everything that needs to be said about today’s weather.

After a couple of weeks of fiddling around, I have a bit of a blog subject schedule:
Sundays: Daydreaming and Creativity
Mondays: Links
Tuesdays: Citizenship and Society
Wednesdays: Faith and Church
Thursdays: Politics
Fridays: Life

Again, I can’t promise I’ll post every day going forward, but I have lots of ideas, so no blogging simply means I’m busy doing other purposeful things!

As always, I found the following links interesting and thought-provoking and posting them is not necessarily an endorsement or approval of their content.

Links

Faith & Religion

Modern Reject – The Biggest Lie I Believe About God

Vancouver Sun – Ten trends in global religion

Kelley Nikondeha – Swords into Plowshares

Enuma Okoro – On Being a Silly Naive Christian

National Post – Canadian deans accused of ‘anti-religious bias’ over attempt to block Christian law school

Rachel Held Evans – Grace for the privileged too? and 6 Things Christians Must Keep in Mind on Inauguration Day (these are applicable every day)

Kristen Rosser – “Husband of One Wife?” and “Abraham, Revisionism and “Privilege Distress”

NPR – Losing Our Religion series

Miguel De La Torre – Overlooking Joshua

Culture, Society & Life

Lisa Arnold & Christina Campbell – The High Price of Being Single in America

Maya – Notre Dame football [and everyone else] cares way more about an imaginary dead girl than a real one

Lori Deschene – 30 Accomplishments to Be Proud Of

Kent Jones – ‘If Alabama wants to be the best, there is a cost.’

Maya & Sesali – Feminism is totally cool with Beyonce posing in her underwear (language warning)

Libby Anne – A Novel Approach to Rape Prevention

Richard Wagamese – To be Indian in Canada today

Isobel Coleman – Saudi Arabia’s Timid Flirtation with Women’s Rights

Sophie Schmidt – Sophie in North Korea

Politics

Tabatha Southey – Self-serving Tory abuses of power?  You ain’t seen nothing yet

Christopher Doering – As more move to the city, does rural America matter? (you can ask this question in Canada, too)

Martha Hall Findlay – ‘I would consider raising the GST but only if needed’ (there’s a lot of truth in here)

Macleans – When Canada tweeted about the failures of #Ottawapiskat

Robert Colson – The View from Moscow: How Hamburgers Explain the US Election

Doug Muder – Too Simple

Steve King – President Obama’s Second Inaugural, as Heard by Conspiracy Theorists and Haters

Science & Nature

Norwegian Broadcasting Company – A Journey Through Seasons – I’ve been to Bodo!

Andrew Sullivan – ‘I Haven’t Sat Down in Six Months’ – a tour of the International Space Station

Hal Amen – 60 Insane Cloud Formations from Around the World

Random & Weird

Slate – The American Supreme Court Justice Death Calculator

Megan Garber – Why You Can’t Cry in Space and When Technology Invent Problems, Moisturizing Jeans Edition

Steve Benen – ‘The Administration does not support blowing up planets’

Andrew Sullivan – Does Scrabble Need a Revision?

Steve Benen – Five shot at ‘Gun Appreciation Day’ events

What I’m reading…

                      

Recommended reading…

                

Yep, this about sums it up.

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

