“Image of God”

What does God look like to you?  Have you ever really thought about it?

When I was little, for some reason I pictured God looking a little like my Uncle Wes.  It was a headshot, actually.  He had a comb over, some grey at him temples, and was dressed in a nice suit.  Kind of like this:

Except in colour and with a smile.  He was up there in the sky, with only a head.  I have no idea how that image got in my head.

Jesus always looked like this:

That image is pretty much stamped in my head.

I have no idea what God looks like.  These days I think of God more in terms of a presence rather than a physical person.  Jesus, yes, I think of Him as above, but with darker skin.  It’s amazing how we’ve literally ‘whitewashed’ Christianity here in North America.

I’ve been thinking a lot about what God looks like lately.  Before Christmas, I started praying (as little as I do) to God as a girl instead of a guy.  God is ALWAYS referred to as a male in church, and in most Christian churches.  This has recently struck me as rather sexist and arbitrary (and no, I haven’t looked in the Bible to see what gender it refers to God as, although it’s probably male).  So, one night I started praying to my Mother in heaven, rather than my Father in heaven.  At this point it’s more of an experiment, but so far I like it.  God as a woman is easier for me to relate to in a lot of ways.  But honestly, I think God is a conglomeration of female and male characteristics that defies categorization.  For now, though, I’m going to keep praying to and thinking of God in female form and seeing where it goes.

What do you think God looks like?  Does God have male and female characteristics?  Could you believe in a female God?

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

