“You Oughta Know” (6th edition)

Definitely the best present I got this week! Is it football season yet?!?!?

Links

Faith & Religion

Ann Voskamp – Your Care Guide: 25 Point Manifesto for Sanity in 2013

Brian McLaren – Help on Biblical Violence

Scot McKnight – Zealotry’s Environment and its predecessor, Zealotry I

Peter Enns – Learning to Read the Bible Nonviolently

Charles Scriven – A New Kind of Adventism

Rachel Held Evans – Your Lent Ideas

Sharon Otterman (NYT) – Pastor Apologizes to His Denomination for Role in Sandy Hook Interfaith Services (how unbelievably ridiculously sad)

Culture, Society & Life

Willa Paskin – ‘Community’s’ new season is a no-win situation (the season premiere was so-so)

Politics & Law

Todd Miller – The Canadian border: A Constitution-free zone

Alice Funke – How to spot a ‘gerrymander’ in Canada’s independent redistricting process

Tabatha Southey – Don’t judge the Conservatives’ push-me, poll-you tactics (I hope ‘Trostful’ enters common usage)

Globe and Mail Editorial Board – No gay-free law school should stand in Canada

Wiliam Saletan – Editors for Predators: To justify drone strikes, the Obama administration is twisting language and the law

Random & Weird

Megan Garber – Um, What’s This Weird Hunk of Metal We Just Found on Mars?

David Lazarus – Work is hell: Man quits job over ‘666’ on tax forms

CBS News – Samuel Mullet Sr., ringleader of Amish beard-cutting attacks, sentenced to 15 years in prison

Forrest Wickman – George W. Bush: Great Painter? Or Greatest Painter?

What I’m reading…

           

Yes, I read Harlequins.

Recommended Reading…

There’s a lot of books I want on these lists from Hearts & Minds…

Best Books of 2012 – Part One

Best Books of 2012 – Part Two

Best Books of 2012 – Part Three

Weird video, great song.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

