“You Oughta Know” (1st post-law school edition)

photo
Law school is done.  I’ve managed to read a lot the last couple of days, so there are LOOOOOOTS of links today.

Links

Faith & Religion

Eliel Cruz – Progressive love

Tina Francis – My C-Word: An Introduction

Kathy Escobar – the open broken heart

Zach Hunt – Pat Robertson & Apocalyptic Idolatry 

People get ready – there’s a train a-coming

Rachel Held Evans – Is doubt an STD? and Why I don’t witness to people on airplanes

Emily Wierenga – What I (Emily) am learning as a writer, and as a believer, and why it hurts

Lore – Shake & Burn

Enuma Okoro – On being ‘punk’d’ by God

Duane Scott – Why your ugly past should be part of your future

Ann Voskamp – When life burns…what we could do for each other and What Christians need to know about mental health

Overcoming mental illness’ stigma in the church: an interview with Amy Simpson

This week in God

Culture, Society & Life

What I want you to know about living with bipolar disorder

Ann Friedman – Why female politicians aren’t always pro-women

Alexandra – Rehtaeh Parsons is dead

Emily Bazelon – Rehtaeh Parsons rape case – sexting scourge

Chris Selley – How not to solve the bullying problem

Globe Discussion – Mental Health in BC: Progress and challenges

Study: Talking about a female candidate’s appearance hurts her chances of winning

Amy S. Choi – Women in the world: The economic argument for empowerment

The Hillary Doctrine: Women’s rights are a national security issue

Politics, Economics & Law

What does our prime minister’s handwriting saw about the man?

Brad Wall defends gay-straight alliance position

Chris Selley – MPs need to grow a spine and speak their minds

Supreme Court of Canada launches probe over allegations of former Chief Justice leaking details of constitutional talks

Tabatha Southey – Conservative robo-calls ran afoul of the law – and my mom

Susan Delacourt – Thatcher’s legacy in Canada

Bryne Purchase – Is capitalism hazardous to mankind?

Paul Heinbecker – It’s not just the drought treaty.  Canada is vanishing from the United Nations.

President Obama: Damned if he does, damned if he doesn’t

Andrew Sullivan on Margaret Thatcher: Thatcher, Liberator and The Iron Lady vs. Today’s GOP

Mark Mackinnon – North Korean leader paints himself into a corner

Random & Weird

As a study of popular culture, I, too, maintain that gossip is important.

The internet is making you fat, stupid and poor.  Here’s what to do about it.

The secret life of cats: what you can learn by putting a GPS on your kitty

What I’m reading…

                

What I’m watching…

       

Word.

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

