“Old Sh!t”

winwin

                                                  He’s baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack!

The post title really isn’t meant to offend Kerry Joseph.  Honestly.  I just happened to be listening to Miranda Lambert’s latest (finally), and the title of one the album’s songs seemed rather apt.

And, well, Kerry Joseph is kind of old.

Especially for a quarterback.

Some have been clamouring for this move for awhile.

Yeah, I’m looking at you, Belton Johnson.

I’m not necessarily opposed to this move, but it just seems so…unimaginative.  So logical.  Sensical (that really should be a word).  The Riders get a veteran quarterback with championship experience without having to give up draft picks and/or key players (suck it, REDBLACKS).

I’d say that there are two schools of thought in Riderville right now.  The first is that there’s no sense in throwing away an entire season just because the quarterback is hurt.  These people realize that the Riders have a pretty solid defence that can somewhat counterbalance an underperforming offence.  So why not get a veteran QB that can step in and manage the game.  The second is that we should stick without young QBs and work on figuring out what we have because Darian Durant is: a) going to get hurt again at some point; and b) is eventually going to have to retire.  Obviously these people look at the Montreal Alouettes’ woes this season as a cautionary tale.

Kerry Joseph was the only option for the Riders, outside of trading for Henry Burris (wouldn’t you like to know exactly what the Riders offered for Smilin’ Hank?)  And it’s not a bad option.  The team’s offence is clearly struggling, and having someone around that knows the pressure of playing at Taylor Field who can step into the locker room and be a leader without making waves is probably a good thing.

But why am I having to work so hard to convince myself that this is a good move?

I should really look on the bright side.  The last time the Riders went looking for veteran QB help, they ended up with Michael Bishop.

That didn’t end well.

So I guess what I’m saying is that at least the Riders didn’t bring in Ryan Dinwiddie, Reggie Slack, Nealon Greene, Marvin Graves, Warren Jones, Steve Sarkisian or Rocky Butler (ahough Rocky Butler did win that one Labour Day game…)

I guess we should consider ourselves fortunate then, right?

Leave a Reply

Slaw

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

CFL.ca

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Mental Floss

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Hairpin - Medium

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

PassiveAggressiveNotes.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Visual News

Content that educates, engages, and inspires.

stuff antonia says.

lipstick, sacraments, espresso, & grace. not necessarily in that order.

Rage Against the Minivan

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Weekly Sift

making sense of the news one week at a time

Peter Enns

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Lainey Gossip Articles

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

TheCourt.ca

THE COURT is the online resource for debate & data about the Supreme Court of Canada

Crumbs from the Communion Table

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

David Akin’s On the Hill

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

blog - Elizabeth Esther

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Experimental Theology

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

gailvazoxlade.com

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

Love is an Orientation

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

The Atlantic

My ramblings on life, politics, sports and other things.

